A record 31 nations competed at the 15th WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship in Surrey, Canada, from July 15-24,2016.

2016 World Championship competing nations:

Africa (2): Kenya, Uganda

Americas (10): Brazil, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Peru, United States, Venezuela, and host Canada;

Asia (6): China, Chinese Taipei, India, Japan, Pakistan, Philippines;

Europe (11): Austria, Czech Republic, France, Great Britain, Greece, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Serbia, Switzerland;

Oceania (2): Australia, New Zealand.

The Women’s Softball World Championship at Softball City in Surrey brought together the world’s top softball athletes from all five regions, representing one of the largest global footprints in the event’s history, with eleven nations making their world championship debuts.

Stepping onto the women’s softball world stage for the first time were: Brazil, Ecuador, India, Ireland, Israel, Kenya, Pakistan, Peru, Serbia, Switzerland, and Uganda.

The Women’s National Team of Japan headed to Surrey as the two-time defending world champions, capturing gold medals in Haarlem (NED) in 2014 and Whitehorse (CAN) in 2012.

The United States – the Eagles – have won nine total women’s world championships and took home the silver medal in 2012 and 2014.

Oceania’s Australia – the Aussie Spirit – claimed the bronze medal in Whitehorse and Haarlem.

Host Canada was expected to perform well after their gold-medal win at the 2015 Pan American Games in Toronto.

 “We are thrilled to announce the countries scheduled to participate in SURREY 2016,” says Chairmen, Greg Timm. “This is just the beginning of many exciting announcements of what’s to come to Surrey this July as we host this world-class event.”

International Selection of Umpires

The World Baseball Softball Confederation has appointed 30 umpires from 18 countries to officiate in the 15th WBSC Women’s Softball World Championship in Surrey, BC, Canada later this year.

Officials will be represented from Australia, Austria, Brazil, Canada, China, Cuba, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, Spain, USA, and Venezuela.